

MINUTES KEIZER CITY COUNCIL/PARKS ADVISORY BOARD WORK SESSION

Monday, September 12, 2022 Keizer, Oregon

CALL TO ORDER: Work Session convened at the Chalmers Jones Park gazebo at 6:00 p.m. The following were present:

Councilors:	Parks Advisory Board:	Absent:
Cathy Clark, Mayor	Tanya Hamilton, Chair	Mathew Poteet, Parks Board
Roland Herrera	David Louden	Katie Brady, Parks Board
Laura Reid	Matt Lawyer	Mike Pantalone, Parks Board
Shaney Starr Dan Kohler	Clay Rushton Gwen Carr	Elizabeth Smith, Councilor
Dan Komer		Kyle Juran, Councilor Staff Present:
	Lisa Cejka	Robert Johnson, Parks Manager
		Bill Lawyer, Public Works Director
		Debbie Lockhart, Deputy City
		Recorder
		Recorder
CITY PARKS	Tour participants were met at the park by members of the West	
TOUR	Keizer Neighborhood Association Board who provided refreshments.	
Palma Ciea Park	Mr. Johnson explained that staff has been working with the West	
	Keizer Neighborhood Association to improve the park so this visit is	
	a 'before/after' view of it. There are now two new river viewing points	
	since limbs that used to bloc	ck the view have been removed. An
	•	build/clear a path to the river starting at
		agonally down the hill to the river where
		spot. It is anticipated that the project
	will be completed within the	next 5 to 6 weeks.
Keizer Rapids	Participants viewed the two	new picnic shelters, the newly seeded
Park	•	boat ramp and the area planned for the
T ark	turf fields. Robert Johnson r	noted that one of the picnic shelters near
	the Big Toy will be available	to reserve for parties.
Bair Park	Mr. Johnson explained that	the park is left in a natural state so that
Built un	•	thrive but is mowed near the beginning
		. A trail to the remains of the Oakland
	Touring Car is planned as a	n Eagle Scout project. When it is
	completed an interpretive si	gn telling about the car and property will
	be installed.	
ADJOURN	Meeting adjourned at Bair Park at 7:32 p.m.	
	mooting adjourned at Dall I	

APPROVED:

Cathy Clark

Debbie Lockhart, Deputy City Recorder

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Councilor #1 – Laura Reid

Councilor #4 – Roland Herrera

~ Absent ~

Councilor #5 – Elizabeth Smith

Councilor #2 – Shaney Starr

~ Absent ~

Councilor #3 – Kyle Juran

Councilor #6 – Daniel R. Kohler

Minutes approved: 10-03-22